Skip to main content

Engaging Reluctant Readers Through Literature

Online Event
Past Event
Date
April 19, 2022
6:30 pm - 7:45 pm
EDT
Contact
Presented by CEC Pioneers & CEC DDEL

Engaging reluctant readers through selected literature creates a classroom climate of acceptance and belonging. As teachers, our choice of literature acknowledges children as valued learners and promotes inclusivity of dis/Abilities, diversity, and cultural relevance across curriculum materials.

Strategies to teach literacy using the home and community environments and to promote family engagement will be presented. These sessions, presented by teachers active in the field, explore practical and successful strategies that invite readers to “see themselves and others” within the literature we select. Participants will receive links to resources available.

Dates & Times

All sessions are held at 6:30 PM ET/5:30 PM CT/4:30 PM MT/3:30 PM

  • Sign up for one or more sessions
  • Sessions are 75 minutes
  • Earn CEU credit for each session

 

Cost

CEC Member $20 USD per session
Non-member $30 USD per session
Team of 3 $20 USD per session

 

Payment

Register Here

Sessions and Presenters

April 5, 2022 Selecting Appropriate Classroom Literature for All Grade Levels
  • Dr. Joy Banks, George Mason University
  • Dr. Winter Bingham, Montgomery County Public School
  • Michael Green, Montgomery County Public School
April 12, 2022 Strategies for Supporting Reluctant Readers in the Classroom and at Home
  • Dr. Cathy Kea, North Carolina A&T State University
  • Kayla Fointno, Tulsa Public Schools
  • Alexus Cox, Wake County Public Schools
April 19, 2022 Strategies for Integrating Literature Across the Curriculum
  • Dr. Mary Ruth Coleman, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Dr. German Diaz, Milwaukee Public Schools
  • Dr. Martha Lopez, Milwaukee Public Schools

 

© 2022 Council for Exceptional Children (CEC). All rights reserved.